Board of Trustees installs three new members

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Jeanette Blain | News Editor | [email protected]


UVU has announced that three new members will join the ten voting members of the UVU Board of Trustees starting July 1. The new appointees are James Clarke, Jill Taylor and Jack W. Sunderlage.

The new Trustees will replace three members who have reached their term limit; Steven Lund, Terry Shoemaker and Greg Butterfield. According to the bylaws of the university, board members may only serve two terms of four years each.

James Clarke, has attended board meetings as chair of the UVU Foundation since February and will now become a voting member. He is CEO and managing partner of Clarke Capital Partners and founder of CLEARLINK. Clarke also has a master’s degree in management from Oxford University.

Jill Taylor is the Utah district president of Key Bank. According to a UVU marketing press release, she is considered a pioneer for building her career as a woman in a predominantly male industry. She holds a degree in journalism from the University of Utah.

Sunderlage has been president and CEO of Content Watch Inc., and an executive with Burroughs, UNISYS, Digital Equipment, Compaq Computer and Hewlett-Packard. He is also vice-chair of UVU’s National Presidential Advisory Board.

“These individuals are eminently well-qualified to be Trustees and will have a tremendous impact on UVU. They each bring a wealth of experience and professionalism that will enhance the leadership of our institution,” UVU President Matthew Holland said.The Board meets monthly to discuss and vote on school business. Each voting member is appointed by Gov. Gary Herbert.

Existing Trustees include: Elaine Dalton (First Chair), Duff Thompson (second Chair), Karen Acerson, Taran Chun, Curtis Blair, Anne-Marie Lampropoulos, Duff Thompson and Dylan Swarts.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.