The Lakeview Room at the library had barely enough room to fit the people who came to say goodbye and shake hands with the former president of UVU, Sederburg, and welcome Liz Hitch as the new interim president.

The reception was held last week for those who wanted to come personally send Sederburg off onto his new job as Utah’s commissioner of higher education.

A farewell video was shown that thanked the former president for his efforts spent attaining university status and building the new library.

Many in attendance expressed their appreciation for Sederburg’s unique qualities. “How kind and friendly he was to the students is what I’ll miss the most,” said Joseph Watkins, UVU student body president.

“I enjoyed his witty, well-placed sarcasm. I shall miss it,” said Kris Coles, former UVU student body president.

Not only will the school miss Sederburg, he will the miss the school as well. He said the thing he’ll miss most about UVU are the people and the diversity of the 1,100 employees on campus. In honor of Sederburg, a new endowed scholarship will be named after him.

At the proceedings, a presentation was held in which the key to the school was handed over to Hitch, the interim president. Afterward, the presidential search committee was announced. Those on the committee include members of the community and UVU staffers as well as members of the board of regents and board of trustees. This committee will be conducting a nationwide search for candidates qualified for the president position. The committee hopes to have the position filled in five to six months.

Although Sederburg will no longer be on campus, he will still be highly involved in the affairs of the school — as well as other institutions of higher education in Utah — as he works in his new position with the state. “I’ll be back to regulate you next week,” joked Sederburg. “My official last duty as president is to give you the rest of the day off.”


The presidential committee members

Chair: Jed Pitcher
Co-chairs: Marlon Snow and John Zenger
Bonnie Jean Beesley and Joel Wright (from the board of regents)
Janette Hales Beckham, Dan Campbell, Scott Jenkins, Joseph Watkins (from the board of trustees)
Charles Allison, Jan Bentley, Bonnie Henrie, Clint Moser (from UVU staff)
Lewis Billings, Jerry Washburn, Tom Heal, Tom Whittaker