Being an alternative eater on campus is difficult, near impossible. With a selection of meat or dairy-based, high-fructose corn syrup infused, gluten-laden “food,” UVU is not really friendly to those unorthodox among us.
Here is a description of the most common alternative diets found on campus.
Vegetarian: Vegetarians are people who do not eat meat. This diet may be chosen for moral or ethical reasons, religious values, health considerations or just because it is plain trendy.
Vegan: Veganism is not only a diet, but a philosophy and lifestyle that excludes the use of animals for food, clothing or any other purpose. This means that vegans do not eat/ use any meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, dairy products, honey, fur, leather, wool, or silk or any by-products including gelatin, whey, beeswax, and shellac. Some vegans choose only to incorporate the diet into their lives and still wear leather or wool. The most common reason for becoming vegan is an ethical or moral commitment to animal rights or the environment.
Raw foodism: Raw foodists or living foodists promote the consumption of 100 percent uncooked food. Though raw foodism is often equated with raw veganism, some raw foodists consume raw meat and other raw animal products. Raw food dieters often claim that cooking food produces harmful chemical toxins. While some of these concerns are accepted by science, some are speculative. Depending on the type of raw foodist, a raw diet may include a select?on of raw fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, eggs, fish, meat and non-pasteurized/non-homogenized dairy products.
Gluten-free diet: Most regularly chosen to treat celiac disease and wheat allergy, gluten-free excludes wheat, barley, rye and triticale, as well as the use of gluten as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent.