In July, the school of humanities, arts & social sciences (HASS) divided into two different institutions, with most of the arts separating to form their own department.
At UVSC, all liberal arts programs existed within HASS. With the new university status, the school was split in two to create the college of humanities with six departments (English, history and political science, philosophy, etc.) while the school of arts incorporated the remaining four subjects (music, theater, dance and art & visual communication) as well as the Woodbury Museum, currently located at the Orem University Mall.

The decision to make the split was based on the issue of size. Most of the performing arts departments, dance in particular, were growing exponentially and requiring more space. Also, future graduate programs may be implemented and as one entity, there would likely be confusion with managing administrative burdens — one more reason for the split.

For more on the division and the impact on students, see the Life Section.