An evening of achievement

The best teachers, students and advisors were gathered for the 16th Annual Wolverine Achievement Awards. Liyndi Bone/UVU Review

Following the Oscars, Grammy’s and the American Country Music Awards, UVU held its own annual award show complete with on-campus celebrities, humorous hosts, prestigious presenters and worthy nominees.

The 16th Annual Wolverine Achievement Awards were held on Thursday, April 7 at 7 p.m. in the Reagan Theater. The event was open to all nominees, friends and family members.

Hosted by Dr. Bob Rasmussen, the Dean of Students and Phil Clegg, the Assistant Dean of Students, The Wolverine Achievement Awards took the time to honor and recognize on-campus organizations, faculty, staff and students that exemplified the university’s mission of engaged learning.

“UVU is an ever-changing and constantly growing institution,” Clegg said about the contributions made to UVU’s success by all the nominees.

The first winner of the night was Chase Brown, who took home the award for Distinguished Volunteer Service. Brown has devoted most of his time to the Safety Net Mentor Program, Friday’s Kids, the UVU Pre-Medical Club and the Friends for Sight Program. “It’s not like you see people picking up trash on the side of the road with a sign saying ‘Look at me, I’m doing service,’” Brown said.

Several other students were honored for their dedication to UVU and their efforts in engaged learning. Winners included Kayli Doxey for Female Athlete of the Year, Flint Ray for Male Athlete of the Year, Eric Madsen for the Wolverine Spirit Award and Kristopher Lange for Student of the Year.   Along with students, staff and faculty were also recognized. Doug Warner received the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award, honoring his time and dedication to the future of UVU. Known for his economic planning in regard to the UVU budget, Warner contributed to the financial successes of the University.

“UVU is a wonderful place with fantastic administration, faculty, staff and students,” Warner said while accepting his award.

Warner was joined by honorees Karen Tebbs, Friend of UVU, Maureen Andrade for Commitment to Excellence, Jon Westover for Full-time faculty of the year, Dr. Alan Erickson for Adjunct Faculty of the Year, Kim Barraclough for Staff Excellence Award and Vegor Pedersen for Advisor of the Year.

Among all the on-campus clubs and organizations, two took home awards for providing students with engaging opportunities and helping them to succeed in and out of the classroom. UVU PRSSA won Club of the Year and Prospective Student Services won Organization of the Year.

Though only one award was given per category, all nominees were worthy and candidates and were recognized and honored with plaques at the end of the evening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.